AMU’s historical foundation dates back to late 1990s. Mandated to address water-related issues, the then Arba Minch Water Technology Institute (AWTI) was established in 1986. AWTI then used to offer short and long-term trainings, conducting research and rendering consultancy services in the water sector.

In 1997, it got restructured as Arba Minch Technology Institute (AMiT), and soon three BSc degree programs were added i.e. Civil, Mechanical & Electrical Engineering.

In 2001, Meteorology Department was established to provide diploma and PG degrees. Subsequently, Computer Science and Information Technology & Architecture were added.

In 2002, AMiT rolled in PG programs in Hydraulics & Hydropower & Irrigation Engineering. Additional programs i.e. Hydrology & Water Resource and Meteorology were introduced in 2004-5.

In 2002-3, the School of Graduate Studies came into being, that later launched MSc in Electrical Power Engineering, Geotechnical Engineering and Water Supply and Environmental Engineering.

Till 1993, AMiT was governed by Water Resource Commission and then came under the umbrella of Ministry of Education (MoE). Following nation’s development plan to produce qualified manpower, AMiT was scaled up to the level of university as Arba Minch University in 2004. Since its establishment, AMU has achieved several milestones and with its maiden PhD program in Irrigation & Drainage Engineering in 2006 EC (2013-14), it has taken a quantum leap towards excellence.

VISION: Arba Minch University aspires to be a leading University by producing intellectuals who will boost growth and development of the nation and become competitive in Africa and the world by 2025 GC

THREE-PILLARS: Teaching-Learning, Research and Community Service.

AMU is consisted of one institute and five colleges tucked up in six sprawling campuses.

• Institute of Technology, AMU’s founding institution
• College of Business & Economics came into being in 2003 &
• College of Social Science & Humanities in 2008-9, are situated at Chamo Campus
• College of Natural Sciences at Abaya Campus was established in 2004. ‘
• College of Agricultural Sciences founded in 2007 is at Kulfo Campus
• College of Medicine & Health Sciences at Nechsar Campus was set up 2008
• Sawla Campus,which is situated at Sawla town, was established in 2015

Dr Damtew Darza heads the University along with four Vice Presidents holding different portfolios.


Our Address:

P.O.Box 21 (5 800,72 km) 00251 Arba Minch', Gamo Gofa